Posted in Uncategorized

Rain and More Rain

I know, I’ve been MIA for a bit.  But I have an excuse.  Not a GOOD one, mind you.

I’m blaming the rain.

After something like 10 years of drought here in Northern California, we have been getting hammered.  We have gotten so much rain this season that we are officially out of the drought.  Yet, it keeps falling.  Mother Nature is mad at our whining, I suppose.  I have a few friends who live in the mountains, and one hasn’t really been able to leave his house for something like a week.  At least he can work from home, so he won’t lose his job.
And that right there amuses me.  They tell us there’s pouring rain, there’s flooding, there’s 50 mph winds, don’t leave your house if you don’t have to…..but if you want to keep your crap job ringing up groceries or whatever, you need to get to work.  We had flooding over in Niles Canyon last night, and the friggin’ CHP was saying not to go out if you could help it.  All I could think was, “Somewhere, there is a boss nice and warm in his house threatening to fire his employees if they don’t show up for work.”

But along with the gray and cloudy crappy weather, I have a gray and cloudy disposition.  I have Seasonal Affective Disorder.  The one thing I found out that helped it years ago was to go into a tanning bed for 5 minutes once a week.  However, there is only one tanning salon in town, and it’s the one I was fired from.  Not to worry, he tried to decline my unemployment, and we went to court over it.  Yeah, I won that case.  But I doubt I’d be welcomed back to the shop with open arms!

As far as flooding goes, although we only live about 100 yards from a creek, it’s REALLY deep.  I’d say the creek bed is a good 50 feet down, and is about 10 feet full.  Plus it flows out to the Bay, so we’re good.  But running to a sandwich shop nearby yesterday, we checked out the creek, as there’s a bridge going over it.  I have never seen that much water in there.  Every summer, there is a creek cleanup, as there is never any water in there.  I don’t know if they’ll be able to do it this year!

So my absence isn’t my fault.  It’s the weather.  Nature is a mother.

16830626_1612150522135352_7419094153515459539_n

Author:

Born in March with a bad attitude. Crushing on Norman Reedus, Sean Patrick Flanery, and Balthazar Getty to name a few. Walking Dead/Talking Dead addict. Snail saviour. The only Hell my mama ever raised.

Leave a Reply

