Posted in repost

September 11

I know I’ve been M.I.A. for a bit, you know how life is.
Today is the day that reminds us why we have to get to the airport two hours early, take off our shoes, and get xrayed.  I wrote this back in 2014, and it still stands.

 

“Do you remember?”

Yeah. I can’t forget. It’s like how older people remember where they were and what they were doing when Kennedy was shot. But it wasn’t our President – I never liked that jackass anyway.
It was our whole country. It was like the world had caught fire.
I was in college and living with my mom. My dad had left us, so we were living in a one bedroom, and I slept on the sofabed. I was watching the news as I got ready to make the long 2 hour by 2 buses trek to class. They said a plane hit one of the Twin Towers. The way they just kind of casually said it made me think that it wasn’t serious. I thought it was a small plane, and maybe they lost control. Some people would be dead. That was sad.
But it was so much worse.
Mom came into the living room after her shower and watched with me. We just couldn’t understand what was happening. Just after 6 am, we watched a live picture as the second plane crashed.
I begged my mom not to go to work, but she said she would be fine (she worked for U.C. Berkeley, and yes was fine). I told her I wasn’t going to class. I wrote for the school paper, and the meeting was that day. A little after 7 am, I called the classroom and another girl from the paper answered. She hadn’t even known what was going on until she got in and turned on the news. I told her to let the Advisor know that I would not be in, but that my article for that week was already in the can. She was scared and said she was thinking of going home.
I kept thinking that it couldn’t be real. That someone had pirated the airwaves. But it was real.
I didn’t know anyone who lost their lives in New York or Pennsylvania, but I felt like I had. I fell asleep on my sofabed that day with the TV on, and when I woke, I hoped it was a dream. But it wasn’t. And I cried.
I cried for the people who died and I cried for the people who lived.
And I cried because I knew our country would NEVER be free again.
DoYouRemember-460x138

